Welcome to RadiGaMe

The RadiGaMe research network (Radicalisation on gaming platforms and messenger services) is an interdisciplinary research and transfer project that systematically investigates radicalisation phenomena on gaming-related communication platforms. Based on this, it develops solutions for law enforcement, early detection and preventive measures.

 

Even if the majority of gamers have little contact with radicalising content, communication platforms such as Twitch, Steam or D-Live have also become the focus of potentially extremist propaganda and hate speech.

The extremist attacks in Halle and Christchurch, which were broadcasted live in first-person shooter style on gaming and social media platforms, are just the tip of an unexplored iceberg. Extremist actors have recognised the mobilisation potential offered by digital worlds and they know how to exploit this for their own ends. It is striking that the connection between gaming and extremism has rarely been the focus of empirical research and studies. RadiGaMe addresses this research gap. Knowledge that already exists needs to be shared.

The aim is to achieve close cooperation between academia, state and civil society organisations in order to fully explore the subject area and bring together and expand existing knowledge.

The research project consists of a network of criminological, legal, communication science and political science research institutions, law enforcement agencies and practice partners.

The RadiGaMe research network is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) as part of the funding programme Civil Security - Threats in the Digital Space, which runs from 2023 to 2026. The network is coordinated by the Centre for Technology and Society at the Technical University of Berlin. Other project partners are the Institute for Democracy and Civil Society (IDZ) Jena, the Peace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU), Ruhr-Universität Bochum, modus/zad - Zentrum für angewandte Deradikalisierungsforschung Berlin, the Berlin State Office of Criminal Investigation and Munich Innovation Labs.

 

Events

Here you can find relevant events and news about the research alliance

  • 06.06.2024 - 07.06.2024 Alliance Meeting RadiGaMe (intern) 

  • 07.03.2024 - 08.03.2024 RadiGaMe at the MOTRA-K
  • 18.01.2024 - 19.01.2024 Phands-on Workshops RadiGaMe
  • 23.11.2023 - 24.11.2023 Alliance Meeting RadiGaMe (intern)
  • 18.01.2024 - 19.01.2024 Phands-on Workshops RadiGaMe

Location

Contact

If you have any questions about the RadiGaMe research alliance, please contact the following mail-adress radigame(at)prif.org.

Willkommen bei RadiGaMe

Das Verbundprojekt RadiGaMe (Radikalisierung auf Gaming-Plattformen und Messenger-Diensten) ist ein interdisziplinäres Forschungs- und Transfervorhaben, welches Radikalisierungsphänomene auf Kommunikationsplattformen mit Gamingbezug systematisch untersucht und darauf aufbauend Lösungsansätze für Strafverfolgung, Früherkennung sowie präventive Maßnahmen erarbeitet.

Auch wenn ein Großteil der Gamer*innen keine bis wenige Berührungspunkte mit radikalisierenden Inhalten haben, sind Kommunikationsplattformen, wie Twitch, Steam oder D-Live auch in den Fokus potenziell extremistischer Propaganda und Hassbotschaften geraten.

Dabei sind die extremistischen Anschläge von Halle und Christchurch, die im First-Person Shooter Stil, auf Gaming- und Social-Media-Plattformen live übertragen wurden, nur die Spitze eines in die Tiefe nicht erkundeten Eisbergs. Extremistische Akteur*innen haben die Mobilisierungspotenziale, die sich durch die digitalen Erlebniswelten ergeben, erkannt und wissen diese für sich zu nutzen. Auffällig ist, dass die Verbindung zwischen Gaming und Extremismus bisher nur selten in den Fokus empirischer Forschung und Studien gerückt ist. Diese Forschungslücke adressiert RadiGaMe. Wissensbestände die bereits existieren, müssen in den Austausch gebracht werden.

Es wird eine enge Zusammenarbeit von Wissenschaft, staatlichen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Einrichtungen angestrebt, um das Themenfeld vollumfänglich zu erschließen und bereits existierende Wissensbestände zusammenzubringen und auszubauen.

Getragen wird das Forschungsvorhaben deshalb durch einen Verbund von kriminologischen, rechtswissenschaftlichen, kommunikationswissenschaftlichen und politikwissenschaftlichen Forschungseinrichtungen, Strafverfolgungsbehörden und Praxispartnern.


Der RadiGaMe-Forschungsverbund, wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) im Rahmen der Fördermaßnahmen Zivile Sicherheit - Bedrohungen im digitalen Raum mit einer Laufzeit von 2023 bis 2026 gefördert. Der Verbund wird durch das Zentrum Technik und Gesellschaft an der Technischen Universität Berlin koordiniert. Weitere Projektpartner sind das Institut für Demokratie und Zivilgesellschaft (IDZ) Jena, das Peace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF), die Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU), die Ruhr-Universität Bochum, modus/zad - Zentrum für angewandte Deradikalisierungsforschung Berlin, das Landeskriminalamt Berlin und Munich Innovation Labs.

Neuste Publikation

Winkler, Constantin; Lars Wiegold; Linda Schlegel und Judith Jaskowski (2024): Streaming, Chatting, Modding: Eine Kurzexploration extremistischer Aktivitäten auf Gaming- und gaming-nahen Plattformen.

 

Veranstaltungen

Hier finden Sie themenrelevante Veranstaltungen und News rund um den Forschungsverbund

  • 06.06.2024 - 07.06.2024 Verbundtreffen RadiGaMe (intern) 

  • 07.03.2024 - 08.03.2024 RadiGaMe bei der MOTRA-K
  • 18.01.2024 - 19.01.2024 Praxis-Workshops RadiGaMe
  • 23.11.2023 - 24.11.2023 Verbundtreffen RadiGaMe (intern)

Standorte

Kontakt

Für Fragen rund um den RadiGaMe-Forschungsverbund kontakieren Sie uns gerne unter radigame(at)prif.org.